Bannière

Photo GMollon

Guilhem MOLLON
guilhem.mollon@gmail.com

Associate Professor
National Institute for Applied Sciences of Lyon

PhD, Civil Engineering, INSA Lyon (University of Lyon, France)

Influence of the spatial variability of soils on geotechnical engineering projects

Several methods exist that make it possible to account for the variability of soil parameters based on random variables. However, such studies have the drawback of disregarding the spatial variability of the soil parameters, i.e. of considering that the soil mass is subjected to variability but remains homogeneous. This assumption is very strong and may lead to ignoring some phenomena related to the natural heterogeneities that were produced by the geological history of a given site. However, it is possible to study the influence of this spatial variability on the behavior of geotechnical projects by other means. Such a study is presented here in the framework of the analysis of stability of a pressurized tunnel face in a purely frictional soil. The random fields theory is applied to simulate the spatial variations of the friction angle of the soil.

A 2D model of face collapse is developped in the framework of the kinematic theorem of limit analysis. This model is a 2D simplification of the 3D collapse mechanism published in Mollon et al. (2011). It makes it possible to account for the spatial variability in the soil mass, for computation times which are much smaller than the ones of a numerical model. This analytical collapse mechanism is validated by a large number of comparisons with the results provided by a numerical model of reference programmed in the commercial code Flac.

This validation is first performed in homogeneous soils and then in a systematic way in heterogeneous soils (by introducing some localised weaknesses in the soil mass, and then by simulating the spatial variability with 2D random fields). It appears that the analytical model provides a satisfactory assessment of the influence of soil heterogeneities on the collapse shape and on the critical collapse pressure.

Fig1

Figure 1. Description of the problem : stability analysis of a pressurized tunnel face in the case of a localized soil weakness or of a spatially varying soil.

Fig3

Figure 3. Optimisation of the geometrical parameters of the mechanism. In the case of a spatial variability, we can observe local optimums (points 2 and 3). Under certain conditions, this may lead to multiple failures.

Fig5

Figure 5. Quantitative validation of the limit analysis model in the case of a localized weakness at the foot of the tunnel face.

Fig2

Figure 2. Principle of the 2D model: the lower and upper slip lines are discretized by segments in order to fulfill locally the normality condition (angle between the slip line and the velocity field equal to the local value of the friction angle).

Fig4

Figure 4. Comparison between the failure shapes provided by the 2D mechanism and by a numerical model.

Fig6

Figure 6. Example of validation in the case of a random field. Compared to a numerical model, the 2D mechanism describes fairly well the new slip lines and the modification of the critical collapse pressure.



Publications

PhD Thesis


Articles in international journals


Articles in international conferences

Bannière

Photo GMollon

Guilhem MOLLON
guilhem.mollon@gmail.com

Maître de Conférences
Institut National des Sciences Appliquées de Lyon

Docteur en Génie Civil de l'INSA Lyon
Ingénieur INSA, Normalien, Agrégé de Génie Civil

Influence de la variabilité spatiale des sols sur les ouvrages géotechniques

La prise en compte de la variabilité des paramètres de sol par l’intermédiaire de variables aléatoires peut être effectuée par de nombreuses méthodes. Néanmoins, ce genre d'étude est conduite en négligeant la variabilité spatiale des paramètres de sol, c'est-à-dire en considérant que le sol est sujet à variabilité mais reste homogène. Cette hypothèse forte opère un lissage de propriétés du sol et est donc de nature à occulter certains phénomènes liés aux hétérogénéités naturelles qu’a pu produire l’histoire géologique parfois tourmentée des sites considérés. Il est pourtant possible d’étudier l’impact de cette variabilité spatiale sur le comportement des ouvrages géotechniques. On présente ici un exemple d'étude de la stabilité à l’effondrement en sol purement frottant d’un front de taille pressurisé. La théorie des champs aléatoires est utilisée pour modéliser les variations spatiales de l’angle de frottement interne du sol.

Un modèle bidimensionnel d’effondrement du front est développé dans le cadre du théorème cinématique de l’analyse limite. Ce modèle est une simplification en deux dimensions du modèle 3D d'effondrement publié dans Mollon et al. (2011). Il permet de prendre en compte la variabilité spatiale du sol pour des temps de calcul nettement plus réduits que ceux d’un modèle numérique. Ce mécanisme d’effondrement analytique est validé par une série de comparaisons avec les résultats fournis par un modèle numérique programmé sous le logiciel Flac.

Cette validation est effectuée successivement en sol homogène, puis de manière systématique en sol hétérogène (par l’introduction de faiblesses localisées dans le massif de sol, puis par modélisation de la variabilité spatiale sous forme de champs aléatoires 2D). Il apparaît que le modèle analytique permet de représenter avec une précision satisfaisante l’impact des hétérogénéités de terrain sur la forme de la rupture et sur la pression limite d’effondrement.

Fig1

Figure 1. Position du problème : stabilité d'un front de taille en présence d'un sol spatialement variable ou d'une faiblesse localisée.

Fig3

Figure 3. Optimisation des paramètres géométriques du mécanisme. En présence d'une variabilité spatiale, on observe des optimums locaux (points 2 et 3). Sous certaines conditions, ceci peut conduire à des ruptures multiples.

Fig5

Figure 5. Validation quantitative du modèle d'analyse limite en présence d'une faiblesse localisée en pied de front de taille.

Fig2

Figure 2. Principe du modèle 2D : les lignes de glissement inférieure et supérieure sont discrétisées en segments de façon à respecter localement la règle de normalité (angle entre la ligne de glissement et le champ de vitesse égal à la valeur locale de l'angle de frottement interne du sol).

Fig4

Figure 4. Comparaison entre les faciès d'effondrement fournis par le mécanisme 2D et par un modèle numérique.

Fig6

Figure 6. Exemple de validation en présence d'un champ aléatoire. Comparé à un modèle numérique, le mécanisme 2D décrit très bien les nouvelles lignes de glissement et le changement de la pression limite ultime.





Publications liées à cette thématique

Thèse de doctorat


Articles de revues internationales


Articles de congrès internationaux