Bannière

Photo GMollon

Guilhem MOLLON
guilhem.mollon@gmail.com

Associate Professor
National Institute for Applied Sciences of Lyon

PhD, Civil Engineering, INSA Lyon (University of Lyon, France)

Discrete modelling of rock avalanches

In the framework of the development of mountain areas, predictive tools are necessary to assess the risk related to rock avalanches. The current advances in computation power make it possible to imagine a numerical simulation method of the propagation of a rock mass along a natural slope, using the Discrete Elements Method (DEM). This method is based on an explicit resolution scheme of the equations of motion, combined with contact laws which prescribe the repulsive forces that appear between dicrete blocks in case of interpenetration. In the chosen strategy, each block of an avalanche is modeled by a spheropolyhedron, which highly simplifies the neighbours and contacts detection as well as the computation of the repulsive forces. In the case of rock avalanches (and more generally of granular flows), it appeared interesting to pay a lot of attention to the bloc-shapes, and to simplify as much as possible the contact law. Indeed, it seems difficult to reproduce in all their complexity all the phenomena which occur during any of the numerous impacts within the flow (which justifies the adoption of a simple contact law in order to consider it as an "energetic black box" with relevant results at the scale of the whole flow), whereas the sizes and shapes of the blocks are important parameters of the flow. A four-parameters law (normal and tangential contact stiffnesses, friction coefficient, and normal restitution coefficient) was thus chosen in order to have a good control over the different sources of energy dissipations within the flow.

Before considering a real case in a natural context, the relevance of the model was evaluated by confronting it to the experimental results published by Manzella and Labiouse (2009). Their experiments consisted in realizing a packing of small bricks (6000 to 10000, each one of them being 3cm long), and to release this assembly on an inclined plane in order to observe the granular flow on the slope and its deposition on the horizontal plane. The estimation of the contact parameters was performed using the results of additionnal experiments using the same materials as in the original experiments by manzella and Labiouse (bricks and plastic support). Several collision tests were performed and shot by two high-speed cameras. A back-analysis of the trajectories of falls and rebounds allowed to define a set of 8 contact parameters (4 parameters for the brick-support contact, and 4 for the brick-brick contact), which in turn were introduced in a simulation of the whole avalanche event. The results of this simulation (velocity of propagation and deposition, shape and size of the granular deposit) showed a very satisfactory correspondence with the experimental results, and proved that the collective behavior of a granular mass can be reproduced from very simple contact laws calibrated on isolated impacts.

On-going work is related to a future application in a natural context (i.e. to a real event of rock avalanche), and on the new levels of complexity that such a simulation implies (topography, soft subtrate, rock fracturation, etc.)

Fig1

Figure 1. Strategy of shape representation by spheropolyhedron: each vertice is replaced by a sphere, and each edge by a cylinder.

Fig3

Figure 3. Same collision experiment shot by two high-speed cameras (a. et b.).

Fig5

Figure 5. Simulation of the experiment published by Manzella and Labiouse (2009), from the packing in the starting box to the final deposit on the horizontal plane.

Fig7

Figure 7. Non-convex envelope of the final deposit, giving access for example to its volume and solid fraction.

Fig2

Figure 2. Simple contact law with four parameters. The energy dissipation is introduced by classical Coulomb friction, and by a coefficient of normal dissipation describing the ratio between the loading and unloading stiffnesses.

Fig4

Figure 4. Determination of the contact parameters by back-analysis on the two cameras (a. et b.). From left to right : shooting, 3D determination of the trajectory, best numerical reproduction of the impact.

Fig6

Figure 6. Comparison between the experimental and numerical results, in terms of deposit shapes (a. et b.) and of avalanche front velocity (c.). The results are considered very satisfactory provided that the contact parameters were calibrated on additional tests, and not by back-analysis of the whole event.

Fig8

Figure 8. Interpolation techniques utilized to plot continuous fields of some interesting quantities, such as velocities and angular velocities of the particles or local solid fraction of the granular mass.



Publications

Articles in international journals


Articles in international conferences

Bannière

Photo GMollon

Guilhem MOLLON
guilhem.mollon@gmail.com

Maître de Conférences
Institut National des Sciences Appliquées de Lyon

Docteur en Génie Civil de l'INSA Lyon
Ingénieur INSA, Normalien, Agrégé de Génie Civil

Modélisation discrète des avalanches rocheuses

Dans le cadre de l'aménagement des zones montagneuses, il est nécessaire de disposer d'outils de prédiction des zones à risques vis-à-vis des avalanches rocheuses. Les moyens de calcul actuels permettent d'envisager une méthode de simulation numérique de la propagation d'une masse rocheuse le long d'une pente naturelle, en utilisant la méthode des éléments discrets. Cette méthode repose sur un schéma de résolution explicite en pas de temps des équations du mouvement de Newton, combiné à des lois de contact prescrivant les efforts répulsifs se développant entre les différents solides en fonction de leur interpénétration. Dans la modélisation choisie, chaque élément de l'avalanche rocheuse est modélisé par un sphéro-polyèdre, ce qui simplifie grandement la détection des contacts et le calcul des forces répulsives. Dans le cadre des avalanches rocheuses (et des écoulements granulaires en général), il est apparu intéressant d'accorder beaucoup d'importance à la forme des blocs, mais de simplifier autant que possible la loi de contact. Il semble en effet difficile de reproduire dans toute leur complexité l'ensemble des phénomènes physiques ayant lieu lors de chacun des innombrables chocs que compte une avalanche rocheuse (ce qui justifie de simplifier la loi de contact afin d'en faire une "boite noire" dont les résultats à l'échelle de l'écoulement seraient satisfaisants), tandis que la forme et la taille des blocs sont des paramètres déterminants de l'écoulement. Une loi à quatre paramètres (raideurs normale et tangentielle du contact, coefficient de frottement, et coefficient d'amortissement normal) a donc été choisie de manière à avoir un contrôle précis des différentes sources de dissipations énergétiques au sein de l'écoulement.

Avant de s'intéresser à un cas réel en contexte naturel, la pertinence du modèle a été évaluée en le confrontant aux résultats expérimentaux de Manzella et Labiouse (2009). Leurs expériences consistaient à mettre en place un assemblage de petites briques (d'une longueur de 3cm et au nombre de 6000 à 10000), et de relâcher cet assemblage sur un biplan de manière à observer l'écoulement de la masse granulaire sur la pente et son dépôt sur le plan horizontal. L'estimation des paramètres de contact a été effectuée à partir d'expériences additionnelles utilisant les matériaux d'origine des expériences de Manzella et Labiouse (briques et support). Des essais de rebond de briques ont été réalisés, avec prises de vues par deux caméras rapides. Une analyse inverse des trajectoires de chute libre et de rebond a permis de définir un jeu de huit paramètres de contact (quatre paramètres pour le contact brique-pente, et quatre paramètres pour le contact inter-briques), qui ont ensuite été introduits dans la simulation de l'évènement complet. Les résultats de cette simulation (vitesses de propagation et de dépôt, forme et taille du dépôt granulaire) ont montré une excellente correspondance avec les résultats expérimentaux, et ont prouvé que le comportement collectif d'une masse granulaire en écoulement pouvait être modélisé à partir de lois de contact très simples calibrées sur des impacts isolés.

Fig1

Figure 1. Stratégie de modélisation par sphéro-polyèdre : chaque coin est représenté par une sphère, et chaque arète par un cylindre.

Fig3

Figure 3. Prises de vues de la même expérience par deux caméras rapides (a. et b.).

Fig5

Figure 5. Modélisation de l'expérience de Manzella et Labiouse (2009), de l'assemblage dans la boîte de départ au dépôt final sur le plan horizontal.

Fig7

Figure 7. Enveloppe non-convexe du dépôt final, permettant par exemple d'estimer son volume.

Fig2

Figure 2. Loi de contact simple à quatre paramètres. La dissipation d'énergie est introduite par frottement, et par un coefficient de dissipation normale décrivant le rapport entre les raideurs de chargement et de déchargement.

Fig4

Figure 4. Détermination des paramètres de contact par rétro analyse sur les deux caméras (a. et b.). De gauche à droite : prises de vues, détermination de la trajectoire 3D, meilleure représentation numérique de l'impact.

Fig6

Figure 6. Comparaison entre les résultats expérimentaux et numériques, en termes de formes du dépôt (a. et b.) et de vitesse du front de l'avalanche (c.). Les résultats sont jugés très satisfaisants compte tenu du fait que les paramètres de contact ont été calibrés sur des essais additionnels et non par rétro-analyse de l'évènement complet.

Fig8

Figure 8. Techniques d'interpolation utilisées pour tracer les champs continus de grandeurs d'intérêt, telles que la vitesse et la vitesse angulaire des particules ou la densité locale de l'assemblage granulaire.



Publications liées à cette thématique

Articles de revues internationales


Articles de congrès internationaux