Bannière

Photo GMollon

Guilhem MOLLON
guilhem.mollon@gmail.com

Associate Professor
National Institute for Applied Sciences of Lyon

PhD, Civil Engineering, INSA Lyon (University of Lyon, France)

Application of the limit analysis theory to the stability of tunnels

In the framework of a tunnel excavation in urban context, engineers are confronted to several challenges. Not the least is to maintain the stability of the tunnel face during its excavation in order to ensure the safety of the workers and to prevent dangerous phenomenas at the ground surface. It is thus necessary to build up predictive models in order to assess the admissible retaining pressure interval to be applied to the tunnel face. This pressure should be neither too small (to prevent face collapse) nor too high (to prevent face blow-out towards the ground surface).

Several analytical models of growing complexity have been developped based on the kinematic theorem of the limit analysis theory. In a frictional and/or cohesive soil, the so-called M1 mechanism proposes an extension to 5 blocs of the classical 2-blocs mechanism by Leca and Dormieux [1990]. A spatial discretization technique makes it possible to generate the external surface of the M2 mechanism, which is based on the same principles than the mechanism M1 (several rigid block in translation), but suppresses its main drawback (incomplete intersection between the tunnel face and the first block). The M3 mechanism makes it possible to get even closer to the actual failure shapes observed numerically, by adopting a cylindrical velocity field and a discretization method similar to the one of M2. Mechanisms M4 and M5 are developped from concepts introduced by Klar et al. [2007], in order to represent a failure by continuous deformation of the soil mass behind the tunnel face without any velocity jump, as it is commonly observed in purely cohesive soils. A comparison with numerical results shows that the M3 mechanism provides satisfactory estimations of the critical face pressures in frictional soil, but is not accurate in purely cohesive soils. However, the M5 mechanism provides a consistent improvement of the existing approaches in purely cohesive soils. These results confirm that a model based on the kinematic theorem of limit analysis is much more accurate when the postulated velocity field is close to numerical and/or experimental observations. With this work, we now have two mechanisms which allow a reliable computation of the critical collapse and blow-out pressures in any type of frictional and/or cohesive soil, for limited computation times.

On-going work is currently dedicated to the extension of these mechanisms to more complicated contexts, such as non linear failure criterions or reinforced tunnel faces.

Fig1

Figure 1. a. Collapse mechanism by Leca et Dormieux (1990), composed by two blocks in translation ; b. M1 mechanism, adaptation to 5 blocks (Mollon et al. 2009) ; c. M2 mecanism, Spatial discretization of three translating blocks, to account for the totality of the tunnel face (Mollon et al. 2010).

Fig3

Figure 3. Truncated Mohr-Coulomb criterion, In order to improve the mechanism preformance in frictional and cohesive soils.

Fig5

Figure 5. Face blow-out mehcanisms ; d. Mecanism of Leca and Dormieux (1990) ; e. M1 mecanism (Mollon et al. 2009).

Fig7

Figure 7. Collapse mechanisms based on rigid-blocks motions, but applied to purely cohesive soils ; a. M1 mecanism ; b. M2 mecanism ; c. M3 mecanism ; None of these models provide satisfactory results in non-frictional soils.

Fig9

Figure 9. Velocity field of the M5 mechanism in the plane of symmetry of the tunnel. This mechanism considerably improves the estimations of the critical pressures when compared to the rigid-blocks mechanisms.

Fig2

Figure 2. M3 collapse mecanism, based on a rotationnal velocity field and on a spatial discretization of the slip surface (Mollon et al. 2011). This mechanism provides, at the moment, the best estimation in the framework of the kinematic theorem of the critical collapse pressure in frictional soil.

Fig4

Figure 4. M3 mecanism adapted to the modified MC criterion. The upper-part of the mechanism is truncated, accounting for an energy dissipation related to traction, and not only to shearing.

Fig6

Figure 6. Rotationnal mecanism M3 for face blow-out (Mollon et al. 2011).

Fig8

Figure 8. Extrenal enveloppe of the collapse mechanisms M4 and M5 in purely cohesive soils. These mechanisms are based on a continuous field of deformation rate, without velocity jump.

Fig10

Figure 10. Finite Differences mesh used in M4 and M5 mechanism for the computation of the energy dissipation in the field of strain rate associated to collapse.



Publications

PhD Thesis


Articles in international journals


Articles in international conferences


Articles in national conferences


Softwares

Bannière

Photo GMollon

Guilhem MOLLON
guilhem.mollon@gmail.com

Maître de Conférences
Institut National des Sciences Appliquées de Lyon

Docteur en Génie Civil de l'INSA Lyon
Ingénieur INSA, Normalien, Agrégé de Génie Civil

Application de l'analyse limite à l'étude de stabilité des tunnels

Dans le cadre de l’excavation d’un tunnel à faible profondeur en site urbain, l’ingénieur se trouve confronté à plusieurs défis. L'un des plus importants est de garantir la stabilité du front de taille du tunnel lors de son excavation afin d’assurer la sécurité des ouvriers et d’empêcher des phénomènes dangereux en surface (tels que des fontis ou des refoulements de sol). Il est donc nécessaire de disposer de modèles de prédiction fiables pour estimer le domaine de pression admissible au front de taille. Celle-ci ne doit être ni trop faible (afin de prévenir un effondrement du front) ni trop élevée (afin de prévenir un refoulement en surface).

Plusieurs modèles analytiques de complexité croissante ont été développés à partir du théorème cinématique de l’analyse limite. En sol frottant et/ou cohérent, le mécanisme nommé M1 propose une extension à cinq blocs du mécanisme classique à deux blocs de Leca et Dormieux [1990]. Une méthode de discrétisation spatiale permet de générer la surface externe du mécanisme M2, qui est basé sur les mêmes principes que le mécanisme M1 (plusieurs blocs rigides en translation), mais permet de s’affranchir de son principal défaut (intersection incomplète entre le front de taille et le premier bloc). Le mécanisme M3 permet de se rapprocher encore plus des formes de rupture observées numériquement, en adoptant à un champ de vitesse cylindrique une méthode de discrétisation comparable à celle de M2. Les mécanismes M4 et M5 sont développés à partir de concepts issus de Klar et al. [2007] afin de s’approcher au mieux d’une rupture par déformation continue du massif de sol sans discontinuité de vitesse, telle qu’elle est généralement observée en sol purement cohérent. Une comparaison avec les résultats numériques montre que le mécanisme M3 fournit de bonnes estimations des pressions limites en sol frottant, mais n’obtient pas de bons résultats en sol purement cohérent. Le mécanisme M5, en revanche, constitue une amélioration très sensible des approches existantes en sol purement cohérent. Ces résultats confirment qu’un modèle basé sur le théorème cinématique de l’analyse limite est d’autant plus performant que le champ de vitesse postulé est proche des observations numériques et expérimentales. On dispose donc désormais de deux modèles analytiques permettant d’estimer de manière fiable les pressions limites d’effondrement et de refoulement dans tout type de sol frottant et/ou cohérent, pour des temps de calcul réduits.

Le travail en cours consiste à étendre ces approches à des cas plus complexes, tels que des critères de rupture non-linéaires ou des fronts de taille renforcés.

Fig1

Figure 1. a. Mécanisme d'effondrement de Leca et Dormieux (1990), composé de deux blocs coniques en translation ; b. Mécanisme M1, adaptation à 5 blocs (Mollon et al. 2009) ; c. Mécanisme M2, discrétisation spatiale de trois blocs en translation, pour prendre en compte la totalité du front de taille (Mollon et al. 2010).

Fig3

Figure 3. Critères de Mohr-Coulomb tronqués en traction, pour améliorer les résultats en présence d'un sol frottant et cohérent.

Fig5

Figure 5. Mécanismes de refoulement du sol en avant du front de taille ; d. Mécanisme de Leca et Dormieux (1990) ; e. Mécanisme M1 (Mollon et al. 2009).

Fig7

Figure 7. Mécanismes d'effondrement fondés sur des mouvements rigidifiants et appliqués à un sol purement cohérent ; a. Mécanisme M1 ; b. Mécanisme M2 ; c. Mécanisme M3 ; Aucun de ces modèles ne donne de résultat satisfaisant en sol non frottant.

Fig9

Figure 9. Champ de vitesse du mécanisme M5 dans le plan de symétrie du tunnel. Ce mécanisme améliore considérablement les estimations de la pression d'équilibre par rapport aux modèles rigidifiants.

Fig2

Figure 2. Mécanisme d'effondrement M3, fondé sur un champ de vitesse rotationnel et une discrétisation spatiale de la surface de glissement (Mollon et al. 2011). Ce mécanisme est à ce jour celui qui fournit la meilleure estimation par l'extérieur de la pression limite d'effondrement en sol frottant.

Fig4

Figure 4. Mécanisme M3 adapté au critère MC modifié. La partie supérieure du mécanisme est tronquée, avec prise en compte d'une dissipation énergétique liée également à la traction et non plus seulement au cisaillement.

Fig6

Figure 6. Mécanisme rotationnel de refoulement M3 (Mollon et al. 2011).

Fig8

Figure 8. Enveloppe des mécanismes M4 et M5 d'effondrement en sol purement cohérent. Ces mécanismes reposent sur un champ de taux de déformation continu, sans saut de vitesse.

Fig10

Figure 10. Maillage DF utilisé par les mécanismes M4 et M5 pour le calcul de la dissipation d'énergie dans le champ de taux de déformation.



Publications liées à cette thématique

Thèse de doctorat


Articles de revues internationales


Articles de congrès internationaux


Articles de congrès nationaux



Logiciels