Bannière

Photo GMollon

Guilhem MOLLON
guilhem.mollon@gmail.com

Associate Professor
National Institute for Applied Sciences of Lyon

PhD, Civil Engineering, INSA Lyon (University of Lyon, France)

Numerical modelling of the behavior of tunnels

A large number of deterministic models exist in scientific literature for the study of the face stability of pressrized tunnels. Numerical models mak it possible to obtain both a satisfactory estimate of the critical collapse and blow-out pressures, and the failure shapes corresponding to the two failure modes. The study of several models programmed in the software Flac3D demonstrates the importance of the fineness of the mesh and of the procedure of determination of the critical pressure. Computation times involved in an accurate determination of such a pressure prevent the use of such 3D model in a probabilistic framework with current conventional computationnal means, but these models remain very useful fo the validation of simpler and less costly models. Besides, they make it possible to investigate the differences of failure shapes that may appear between diffrent types of soils.

Numerical models are also suitable for the study of ground movements induced by a pressurized excavation. The model presented hereafter proposes a moderately complex simulation of the different phenomena which occur around a tunnel boring machine during excavation. It provides not only the maximal ground settlement, but also several other quantities (slopes, horizontal deformations, etc.) that are interesting because of their possible impact on constructions existing at the ground surface.

Fig1

Figure 1. Numerical models for the analysis of the face stability of a pressurized tunnel, with two mesh finenesses.

Fig4

Figure 4. Numerical model for the analysis of the ground movements induced by a pressurized excavation.

Fig6

Figure 6. Vertical settlements observed after simulation. The influence of each source of settlement clearly appears.

Fig2

Figure 2. Procedure of estimation of the critical collapse pressure. For a given applied pressure, the state of stability is determined by studying the displacement and the velocity of extrusion of the tunnel face. The critical pressure in computed by successive bracketting using a bisection process.

Fig3

Figure 3. Failure shapes for different types of soils : from left to right, associated frictional soil, non-dilative frictional soil, purely cohesive soil. The differences in failure shape are very clear: frictional soils exhibit localized shear bands between the moving block and the soil at rest (with or without "chimney", depending on the soil dilatancy), and purely cohesive soils exhibit a continuous deformation field behind the tunnel face.

Fig5

Figure 5. Principles of the model, accounting for the retaining face pressure, overcutting, slurry migration around the shield, shield conicity, grout pressure behind the shield, and grout solidification.

Fig7

Figure 7. 3D settlement troughs ; left, total settlement ; right, instantaneous settlement related to the latest excavation stage (vertical scale dilated by a factor 10).



Publications

PhD Thesis


Articles in international journals

Bannière

Photo GMollon

Guilhem MOLLON
guilhem.mollon@gmail.com

Maître de Conférences
Institut National des Sciences Appliquées de Lyon

Docteur en Génie Civil de l'INSA Lyon
Ingénieur INSA, Normalien, Agrégé de Génie Civil

Modélisation numérique du comportement des tunnels

De nombreux modèles déterministes d’étude de la stabilité d’un front de taille pressurisé existent dans la littérature. Les modèles numériques permettent d’obtenir à la fois une estimation satisfaisante des pressions limites d’effondrement et de refoulement, mais également des faciès de ruptures correspondant aux deux types d’instabilité. L'étude de différents modèles numériques programmés dans le logiciel commercial Flac3D démontre l’importance de la finesse du maillage et de la procédure de détermination de la pression limite. Les temps de calcul en jeu ne permettent pas d’envisager l’application des modèles numériques 3D dans un cadre probabiliste avec les moyens de calcul actuels, mais ils peuvent s’avérer très utiles pour la validation de modèles moins coûteux. Par ailleurs, ils permettent de mettre en lumière les différences de faciès de rupture apparaissant entre différents types de sols.

Les modèles numériques sont également très bien adaptés à l'étude des mouvements de sol induits par l’excavation d’un tunnel pressurisé. Le modèle présenté ici propose une modélisation relativement complexe de l’ensemble des phénomènes apparaissant autour du tunnelier lors de l’excavation. Il permet d’obtenir non seulement le tassement maximal, mais également un certain nombre d’autres grandeurs (pentes, déformations horizontales, etc.) présentant un intérêt dans leur impact possible sur un éventuel bâti en surface.

Fig1

Figure 1. Modèles numérique d'étude de la stabilité d'un front de taille pressurisé, avec deux niveaux de maillage.

Fig4

Figure 4. Modèle numérique d'étude des mouvements de sol induits par une excavation pressurisée.

Fig6

Figure 6. Allure des tassements observés après simulation. L'influence des différentes sources de tassement apparaît très clairement.

Fig2

Figure 2. Procédure d'estimation de la pression d'équilibre à l'effondrement. Pour une pression donnée, l'état de stabilité est déterminé par l'étude du déplacement et de la vitesse d'extrusion du front de taille. La pression limite est déterminée par encadrements successifs lors d'une procédure de dichotomie.

Fig3

Figure 3. Faciès de rupture pour différents types de sol : de gauche à droite, sol frottant associé, sol frottant non dilatant, sol purement cohérent. Les différences de faciès sont très claires : les sols frottants font apparaître des zones de cisaillement localisées entre le bloc en mouvement et le sol au repos (avec ou sans "cheminée", selon la dilatance du sol), et les sols non frottants font apparaître un champ de déformations diffuses en arrière du front.

Fig5

Figure 5. Schéma de principe du modèle, avec prise en compte de la pression de soutènement, de la surcoupe, de la migration de boue en arrière du bouclier, de la conicité de la jupe, de la pression d'injection en arrière de la jupe, et du durcissement du mortier de bourrage.

Fig7

Figure 7. Cuvettes de tassement 3D ; à gauche, cuvette totale ; à droite, cuvette instantannée due au dernier pas d'excavation (échelle dilatée d'un facteur 10).



Publications liées à cette thématique

Thèse de doctorat


Articles de revues internationales