Bannière

Photo GMollon

Guilhem MOLLON
guilhem.mollon@gmail.com

Associate Professor
National Institute for Applied Sciences of Lyon

PhD, Civil Engineering, INSA Lyon (University of Lyon, France)

Granular hopper flow

One of the most studied classes of granular flows is the hopper flow. The interest for this kind of flow is mostly academic, because of its geometric simplicity and because the granular material is continuously submitted to shearing. The on-going work aims at investigating the micromechanical behavior of a sand submitted to this kind of flow. The chosen approach is the discrete modelling, so far only in two dimensions.

Two important aspects are studied more closely: the implications of the non-circularity of the grains regarding the flow kinematics and the contact forces network, and the appearance and propagation of structured fluctuations in this flow.

Beyond the theoretical aspects related to the understanding of micromechanicals mechanisms, this work may provide interesting results about the sollicitations and the strength of silos and hoppers submitted to this kind of flow.

Fig1

Figure 1. Granular mass during the flow. The sample is composed of roughly 6000 grains with complex shapes, each grain being modelled by roughly 20 overlapping discs in order to approach typical shapes of Toyoura sand grains.

Fig5

Figure 3. Contact forces network during the flow. The non-circularity of the grains seems to trigger longer force chains from the lateral walls of the hopper, and to increase their inclination and their intensity.

Fig3

Figure 2. Influence of the non-circualrity of the grains and of the opening width of the hopper. When compared to the flow of perfect discs, accounting for complex shapes leads to narrower velocity fields ("funnel" flow), to localized grains rotations, and to a larger average number of contacts per particle.

Fig2

Figure 4. Temporal fluctuations along the vertical axis of the flow, normalized by their standard deviations. One clearly observes a periodicity and a propagation of these fluctuations in the direction opposite to the flow, except for the void ratio which does not seem to exhibit any structured fluctuation.

Fig4

Figure 5. Spatial correlations of the fluctuations in the whole sample. These correlations are intense, anisotropic (more correlations in the ortho-radial direction than in the radial one), and increase with height. These observations suggest a progressive structuration of these waves during their travel upwards.




Publications

Articles in international journals


Articles in international conferences

Bannière

Photo GMollon

Guilhem MOLLON
guilhem.mollon@gmail.com

Maître de Conférences
Institut National des Sciences Appliquées de Lyon

Docteur en Génie Civil de l'INSA Lyon
Ingénieur INSA, Normalien, Agrégé de Génie Civil

Ecoulement granulaire en trémie

Une des classes d'écoulement granulaires les plus étudiées est celle des écoulements en trémie. L'intérêt pour ce type d'écoulement est essentiellement académique, du fait de sa simplicité géométrique et parce que le matériau granulaire y est soumis au cisaillement de manière continue. Le travail engagé consiste à étudier les aspects micromécaniques du comportement du sable soumis à cette sollicitation, en conduisant des simulations discrètes, dans un premier temps en deux dimensions.

Deux aspects essentiels sont étudiés plus précisément : les implications de la non-circularité des grains sur la cinématique d'écoulement et les réseaux de forces de contacts, et l'apparition et la propagation de fluctuations structurées dans cet écoulement.

Au delà des aspects théoriques sur la compréhension des phénomènes micro-mécaniques, ce travail pourrait conduire à des résultats pratiques sur les sollicitations et la résistance des silos subissant des écoulements granulaires.

Fig1

Figure 1. Masse granulaire en cours d'écoulement. L'échantillon est composé d'environ 6000 grains de formes complexes, chacun de ces grains étant composé d'environ 20 disques afin de se conformer aux formes de grains typiques d'un sable de Toyoura.

Fig5

Figure 3. Réseaux de forces de contact au cours de l'écoulement. La non-circularité des grains a tendance à allonger les chaînes de forces issues des parois latérales de la trémie, et à augmenter leur inclinaison et leur intensité.

Fig3

Figure 2. Influence de la non-circularité des grains et de la largeur d'ouverture de la trémie. Par rapport à un écoulement de disques parfaits, la prise en compte de formes complexes tend à resserrer le champ de vitesse (écoulement "en cheminée"), à introduire une localisation des rotations de grains, et à augmenter le nombre moyen de contacts par grain.

Fig2

Figure 4. Fluctuations temporelles selon un axe vertical de l'écoulement, normalisées par leurs écarts-types. On observe une périodicité et une propagation de ces fluctuations dans le sens inverse de celui de l'écoulement, excepté pour l'indice des vides qui ne semble pas fluctuer de manière structurée.

Fig4

Figure 5. Corrélations spatiales des fluctuations dans l'ensemble de l'échantillon. Ces corrélations sont intenses, anisotropes (plus de corrélation dans la direction orthoradiale de l'échantillon que dans la direction radiale), et augmentent avec la hauteur. Ceci suggère une structuration progressive des fluctuations sous forme d'ondes au fur et à mesure de leur trajet.






Publications liées à cette thématique

Articles de revues internationales


Articles de congrès internationaux