Bannière

Photo GMollon

Guilhem MOLLON
guilhem.mollon@gmail.com

Associate Professor
National Institute for Applied Sciences of Lyon

PhD, Civil Engineering, INSA Lyon (University of Lyon, France)

Modelling of sand grains morphology

The mechanical behavior of granular materials is not yet well understood, although recent advances in field measurement and in numerical modelling triggered some considerable progress. Discrete modelling methods have an important role to play in this research field, since they are realistic both at the sample-scale and at the grain-scale. Conventional discrete methods commonly represent particles such as sand grains as discs or spheres, but a large number of researchers are now making efforts to introduce more complex shapes in order to account in a more realistic manner for some interlocking or rolling resistance phenomena.

An efficient method has been developped to generate random 2D granular samples, fulfilling some target conditions in terms of void ratio, size distribution, aspect ratio, orientation, sphericity, rugosity, etc. This method is based on the discrete Fourier transform and on a contrained Voronoi tessellation and gives very satisfactory results, which will make it possible in a short while to introduce in DEM softwares some perfectly controled discrete samples, and to submit them to various mechanical sollicitations. It will then be possible to perform a number of so-called "numerical experiments", in order to study the effect of different shape descriptors on the mechanical response of the granular material.

On-going work in dedicated to an extension of this method to the more general 3D case, and to the study of the flow of a granular medium with complex particle shapes through a hopper.

Fig1

Figure 1. Examples of six random generations of grains with similar target properties in terms of aspect ratio, circularity, angularity and regularity.

Fig2

Figure 2. Filling technique called ODEC (Overlapping Discrete Element Cluster), replacing a grain of complex shape by a collection of discs in order to introduce this shape in a discrete computation code.

Fig5

Figure 5. Examples of 3D granular packings.

Fig3

Figure 3. Exemple of packing obtained with these techniques.

Fig4

Figure 4. Extension to the 3D case: comparison between real sand grains (a. Michigan Dune Sand ; b. Tecate River Sand) and virtual grains generated from experimental Fourier spectrums. Arrows point out some fortuitous similarities and emphasize the potential of the method.




Publications

Articles in international journals


Articles in international conferences


Softwares

Bannière

Photo GMollon

Guilhem MOLLON
guilhem.mollon@gmail.com

Maître de Conférences
Institut National des Sciences Appliquées de Lyon

Docteur en Génie Civil de l'INSA Lyon
Ingénieur INSA, Normalien, Agrégé de Génie Civil

Modélisation de la morphologie des grains de sable

Le comportement mécanique des milieux granulaires est encore assez mal compris, même si les progrès récents en mesures de champs et en modélisation numérique ont permis des avancées importantes. Les méthodes discrètes ont un rôle essentiel à jouer dans cette thématique car elles sont réalistes à la fois à l'échelle de l'échantillon et à l'échelle du grain. Les méthodes discrètes conventionnelles ont très souvent représenté les grains de sable sous forme de sphères, et beaucoup de chercheurs s'intéressent aujourd'hui à introduire des formes plus complexes afin de prendre en compte de façon plus réalistes les phénomènes d'interlocking et de résistance au roulement.

Une méthode efficace de génération aléatoire d'échantillons 2D de sable a été développée, en respectant des valeurs cibles d'indice des vides, de granulométrie, de rapport d'aspect, d'orientation, de sphéricité, de rugosité, etc. Cette méthode est fondée sur la transformée de Fourier discrète et sur une tesselation de Voronoi contrainte et donne d'excellents résultats, ce qui va permettre dans un avenir proche de créer des échantillons numériques de sable parfaitement contrôlés et de les soumettre à diverses sollicitations mécaniques. Il sera ensuite possible de mettre en place un certain nombre d'expériences numériques afin d'étudier l'effet de différents paramètres micromécaniques sur la réponse du milieu granulaire.

Le travail en cours s'intéresse à une généralisation de cette méthode au cas tridimensionnel, et à la modélisation d'un écoulement granulaire de particules complexes au travers d'une trémie.

Fig1

Figure 1. Exemples de six tirages aléatoires de grains avec des propriétés cibles similaires en termes de rapport d'aspect, de circularité, d'angularité et de régularité.

Fig2

Figure 2. Technique de remplissage d'un grain de forme complexe par un grand nombre de cercles, afin d'introduire cette forme dans un code de calcul discret.

Fig5

Figure 5. Exemples d'assemblages granulaires tridimensionnels.

Fig3

Figure 3. Exemple d'assemblage obtenu avec ces techniques.

Fig4

Figure 4. Extension au cas tridimensionnel : comparaison entre des grains de sables réels (a. Michigan Dune Sand ; b. Tecate River Sand) et des grains virtuels générés à partir des spectres de Fourier expérimentaux. Les flèches pointent des ressemblances fortuites et mettent en avant l'intérêt de la méthode.






Publications liées à cette thématique

Articles de revues internationales

Articles de congrès internationaux


Logiciels