Bannière

Photo GMollon

Guilhem MOLLON
guilhem.mollon@gmail.com

Associate Professor
National Institute for Applied Sciences of Lyon

PhD, Civil Engineering, INSA Lyon (University of Lyon, France)

Probabilistic methods based on random variables

The propagation of uncertainty through a deterministic model is a key issue when one wants to estimate the failure probability of a system. Several methods exist to describe the probability distribution of an output variable from the probabilistic parameters of the random input variables, but these methods usually require a large number of calls to the deterministic model. This is the case of the famous Monte-Carlo method, which provides an unbiased estimate of the failure probability pf, but requires a number of calls larger than 10/pf to provide a correct estimation. For the orders of magnitude of failure probabilities that are of interest to engineers, such a number of calls of the deterministic model is often out of reach for computationnal cost reasons. Several recent probabilistic methods allow a reduction of this computationnal time.

The Response Surface Methodology (RSM) is based on a quadratic approximation of the limit state surface, and consists in determining by successive iterations the position of the so-called design point, defined as the point of most probable failure. When this point is known, the FORM approximation provides a direct estimate of the failure probability. However, RSM presents a few limitations, not the least being the fact that it is only able to provide a failure probability for a failure criterion defined a priori, but that it does not provide any information on the probability distribution of the output variable of the model.

The Collocation-based Stochastic Response Surface Methodology (CSRSM) was introduced in order to overcome the limitations of RSM. CSRSM is also based on an analytical approximation of the deterministic model, but this approximation is more complex and presents the advantage of being defined on a wide domain in the space of the input random variables (and not only in the neighbourhood of the design point as in RSM). When this analytical approximation is properly fitted from a rather limited number of calls to the deterministic model, it provides a so-called meta-model with a negligible computational cost, which can be subtituted to the original deterministic model in any probabilistic method.

Fig1

Figure 1. Principle of the reliability-based methods : the ellipses ("probabilistic" part) represent the domains of equal probability of occurence of the random input variables, and the limit state curve ("déterministic" part) represents the limit between the domains of failure and of safety. The design point is the point of most probable failure.

Fig3

Figure 3. Collocation scheme used in the framework of CSRSM. Instead of performing hundreds of calls as in the Monte-Carlo method, the computations are efficiently spread over the domain of the input random variables. From this it is possible to obtain an analytical approximation of the original model with a very small time cost.

Fig5

Figure 5. Examples of results obtained by CSRSM, in the framework of the analysis of pressurized tunnel face stability (Mollon et al. 2011) : influence of the dispersion of the friction angle and of the cohesion on the probability distribution of the critical collapse pressure and on the collapse probability.

Fig2

Figure 2. Response Surface Methodology (RSM) in the case of three random variables. The ellipses become ellipsoids, and the limit state surface is approximated by a quadratic funtion.

Fig4

Figure 4. Comparison between the original model and the meta-model in the framework of CSRSM, for several orders of the method. At the order 2 the approximation is only accurate in the central zone (area of high probability of occurence), while at the order 5 it is satisfactory in the whole domain.



Publications

PhD Thesis


Articles in international journals


Articles in international conferences


Articles in national conferences


Softwares

Bannière

Photo GMollon

Guilhem MOLLON
guilhem.mollon@gmail.com

Maître de Conférences
Institut National des Sciences Appliquées de Lyon

Docteur en Génie Civil de l'INSA Lyon
Ingénieur INSA, Normalien, Agrégé de Génie Civil

Méthodes probabilistes en Variables Aléatoires

La propagation de l’incertitude au travers d’un modèle déterministe est un problème clé lorsque l’on souhaite déterminer la probabilité de défaillance d’un système. Si de nombreuses méthodes existent pour décrire la distribution de probabilité d’une variable de sortie à partir des paramètres probabilistes des variables d’entrée, ces méthodes nécessitent généralement un nombre très important d’appels au modèle déterministe. C’est le cas par exemple de la méthode de Monte-Carlo, qui fournit un estimateur sans biais de la probabilité de défaillance pf, mais nécessite un nombre d’appels au modèle supérieur à 10/pf pour une estimation correcte. Pour les ordres de grandeur des probabilités de défaillance intéressant l’ingénieur, un tel nombre d’appels au modèle déterministe est inabordable dès que le modèle présente un temps de calcul non négligeable. Plusieurs méthodes probabilistes permettent de s’en affranchir.

La méthode de la surface de réponse (RSM) repose sur une approximation quadratique de la surface d’état limite et consiste à déterminer par itérations successives la position du point de conception, défini comme le point de défaillance le plus probable. Lorsque ce point est connu, l’approximation FORM permet d’obtenir directement la probabilité de défaillance. La RSM présente néanmoins quelques inconvénients, notamment le fait qu’elle est capable de fournir une probabilité de défaillance pour un critère fixé a priori, mais qu’elle ne fournit aucune indication sur la distribution de probabilité de la variable de sortie du modèle.

La méthode de la surface de réponse stochastique par collocation (CSRSM) a été introduite dans le but de pallier aux défauts de la RSM. La CSRSM se propose également de fournir une approximation analytique du modèle déterministe, mais cette approximation est nettement plus complexe, et présente l’avantage d’être valable sur un domaine important de l’espace des variables d’entrée (et non au seul voisinage du point de conception, comme le propose la RSM). Lorsque cette approximation analytique a été correctement calée à partir d’un nombre relativement réduit d’appels au modèle déterministe, on dispose d’un méta-modèle au coût de calcul négligeable qui peut avantageusement se substituer au modèle déterministe d’origine dans toute méthode probabiliste.

Fig1

Figure 1. Principe des méthodes fiabilistes : les ellipses (partie "probabiliste") représentent les lieux d'égale probabilité d'occurence des variables aléatoires, et la courbe d'état limite (partie "déterministe") représente la séparation entre les domaines de sécurité et de ruine. Le point de conception est le point de ruine le plus probable.

Fig3

Figure 3. Plans d'expérience utilisés dans le cadre de la CSRSM. Au lieu d'effectuer plusieurs milliers de tirages de type Monte-Carlo, les calculs sont répartis intelligemment dans l'espace des variables d'entrée. On en tire ensuite une approximation analytique qui peut être substituée au modèle originel à un coût de calcul quasi-nul.

Fig5

Figure 5. Exemples de résultats obtenues par CSRSM, dans le cadre de l'étude de stabilité d'un front de taille pressurisé (Mollon et al. 2011) : influence de la dispersion de l'angle de frottement et de la cohésion sur la distribution statistique de la pression limite d'effondrement et sur la probabilité de défaillance.

Fig2

Figure 2. Méthode de la surface de réponse dans le cas de trois variables aléatoires. Les ellipses deviennent des ellipsoïdes, et la surface d'état limite est approximée par une formule quadratique.

Fig4

Figure 4. Comparaison entre le modèle d'origine et son approximation dans le cadre de la CSRSM, pour différents ordres de la méthode. A l'ordre 2 l'approximation n'est valable qu'en zone centrale (zone de probabilité élevée), tandis qu'à l'ordre 5 elle est satisfaisante dans tout le domaine.




Publications liées à cette thématique

Thèse de doctorat


Articles de revues internationales


Articles de congrès internationaux


Articles de congrès nationaux



Logiciels